The institution

The AMB is the public administration of the metropolitan area of Barcelona, a large urban conurbation made up with 36 municipalities.

The constitution as public administration was on July 21st 2011 in accordance with Law 31/2010 passed by the Parliament of Catalonia. Since then, the AMB replaces the three existing metropolitan entities until that date: Mancomunitat de Municipis de l'Àrea Metropolitana de Barcelona (Union of Municipalities of the Metropolitan Area of Barcelona), Entitat del Medi Ambient (Environmental Agency) and Entitat Metropolitana del Transport (Transport Metropolitan Agency).