The municipality grows on a plain fitted between the Litoral Mountain Range, the Mediterranean Sea, Besòs River and Montjuïc mountain. The city hosts the headquarters of the major government institutions of Catalonia: the Generalitat and the Parliament. Since formerly it was the capital of the County of Barcelona, it is often called Ciutat Comtal.

  • Population: 1.608.746 h.
  • Area: 100,3 km²
  • Web:
  • Town Council: Plaça de Sant Jaume, 1
    08002 - Barcelona
    Phone 93 402 70 00


Getting there